Our sweets aren't just for vegans so if you're not vegan or vegetarian yourself you may find yourself wondering why we only sell vegan sweets? What is actually in 'normal' sweets that would make them unsuitable for a vegan? Or what even is a vegan?!
Well first things first, a vegan is a person who does not eat or use animal products. The Vegan Society describe veganism as 'a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose'.
Unfortunately the majority of sweets found in shops are not vegan friendly due to ingredients such as gelatine (a gelling agent made from the bones, connective tissue and skin of pigs or cows), carmine / cochineal (which is made from insects), beeswax and dairy just to name a few.
We know only too well how much of a minefield it can be, checking labels and trying to work out which E numbers contain animal products - but the great news is that now you don't have to as we have checked the ingredients of every one of our sweets to ensure that they are 100% vegan. Which means that you can fully enjoy them in the knowledge that nothing has been harmed for your pleasure. It doesn't get sweeter than that!